Getting caught drinking and driving is bad enough. Getting caught drinking and driving in New York is even worse. The moment you're convicted of driving while intoxicated in New York, you have to prepare for the consequences because they can ruin your life in more ways than one. Let's take a closer look at what's in store for you if you ever get a DWI conviction in New York.
The tragedy caused by drunk driving Leandra Rosado was an 11 year old girl who was killed on the West Side Highway in New York City on October 11, 2009. Leandra was a passenger along with six other young girls in a car driven by her friend's mother, Carmen Huertas. Ms. Huertas was driving at 70 mph and lost control of the vehicle. The car flipped over expelling several of the girls. Leandra was killed and the other six children were injured. Ms. Huertas had a blood alcohol level of .12 - well above the legal limit of .08. The state takes swift action The Child Passenger Protection Act known as Leandra's Law was unanimously passed by the state legislature and signed into law by Governor Patterson on November 18, 2009 in the aftermath of the Leandra's tragic death. A new crime of Aggravated Driving While Intoxicated with a child (Vehicle & Traffic Law 1192(2-a)(b) was enacted.
Thinking of going out with old friends to a bar to celebrate this holiday weekend? If so, be aware that the New York State Police will be hitting the roadways across the state along with you with increased patrols searching for motorists driving drunk as well as for speeders and distracted drivers.
New York has increased the penalties for persistent drunk driving offenders by enacting "Vince's Law" - named for 82 year old Vincent Russo who was critically injured and later died from injuries he sustained in a collision with a drunk driver whose blood alcohol content was four times the legal limit.
Chemical tests are part of nearly every stop for drunk driving or drugged driving in New York. If you are arrested for DWI or driving while ability impaired by alcohol or drugs, you will be asked to take a chemical test back at the police station or state police barracks. In some instances, you may be asked to go to a hospital and have blood drawn.